I wish it wasn’t all about retirement and debt

No, I get it. Retirement is the most important financial goal we have, even more so in the US, where investing is the main way to get there. And being over-your-head in debt is probably the biggest problem in this country, when it comes to personal finances.

But still, 99% of every personal finance advice is geared towards either retirement, or getting out of debt.

But what if you’ve already set up your retirement investment plan, and are not in debt, but are not a millionaire yet ? What if you have other goals beyond these two ?

Take asset allocation, for instance. There’s a lot of advice out there about how to find out your “optimal” allocation, based on how far away you are from retirement. OK. I get that.

But I have mid-term goals in addition to retirement. So what about my AA ? Should I use separate buckets, each with its own AA, or should I consider it all the same ?

Is there something in between retirement investment allocations and savings accounts that give you nothing ?

I know there’s no one-size-fits-all answer. But I still feel like the ugly duck.

I feel the same frustration when it comes to fitness. If you’re not trying to lose a weight but are not an athlete either, you’re out of luck.

